Pratim Biswas

Dean, College of Engineering

(305) 284-5986
Locator Code:


About the Dean, College of Engineering

Professor Biswas is the Dean of the University of Miami College of Engineering. He is a faculty member in the Dept of Chemical, Environmental and Materials Engineering, with an affiliated appointment in the Rosenstiel School of Marine and Atmospheric Sciences. Dean Biswas is a pioneer in his field recognized for applying aerosol science and engineering to multiple areas, such as energy and environmental nanotechnology, solar energy, air pollution control, and medicine. He is also a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the world’s largest scientific society, for his pioneering contributions to aerosol science and engineering. Prior to joining the University of Miami, he was the Lucy and Stanley Lopata Professor and Chair of the Department of Energy, Environmental and Chemical Engineering at Washington University in St. Louis. He also served as the Asst. Vice Chancellor for International Programs, and as the Director of the McDonnell Academy Global Energy and Environmental Partnership (MAGEEP). Pratim Biswas received his PhD from the California Institute of Technology; MS from the University of California, Los Angeles, and his BTech degree from the Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay.

For his exemplary contributions in the fundamentals of aerosol science and engineering, Pratim was elected to the National Academy of Engineering in 2019. He has won several teaching and research Awards including the 2018 Fuchs Award, the premier international aerosol award given to a scientist for outstanding contributions in aerosol science and technology; the 2016 Harry White Award by the International Society for Electrostatic Precipitation; the 2015 Cecil Award given for exemplary accomplishments in Environmental Engineering by the American Institute of Chemical Engineers; the 2013 David Sinclair Award given for outstanding contributions by an established scientist by the American Association for Aerosol Research; the Distinguished Faculty Award by Washington University in 2012; the Distinguished Alumni Award by the Indian Institute of Technology Bombay in 2011, the 1991 Kenneth Whitby Award given for outstanding contributions by the American Association for Aerosol Research and the Neil Wandmacher Teaching Award of the College of Engineering, University of Cincinnati in 1994. He was elected as a Fellow of the Academy of Science, St. Louis in 2003 and a Fellow of the American Association for Aerosol Research in 2009. In 2014, he was selected as a Fellow of the International Aerosol Research Assembly; and in 2017 was elected Fellow of the Association of Environmental Engineering Science Professors. Professor Biswas has played a leading role at the National and International arena in the field of Aerosol Science and Technology by serving on several National and International Committees. He was the Conference Chair for the 15th Annual Meeting of the American Association for Aerosol Research, Chair of the Critical Review Committee of the Air and Waste Management Association, an Associate Editor of the Aerosol Science and Technology Journal, and the Technical Program Chair of the 7th International Aerosol Conference in 2006; and served on the Board of Directors of the American Association for Aerosol Research and was the Treasurer in 1998 and President of the organization in 2006-07. He served as Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Aerosol Science between 2015 and 2019. In 2018, he was Chair of the International Aerosol Conference that was held in St. Louis. He is the current President of the International Aerosol Research Assembly (2018-2022).

Professor Biswas's research and educational interests include aerosol science and engineering; nanoparticle technology; air quality engineering; environmentally benign energy production; combustion; materials processing for environmental technologies, environmentally benign processing, environmental nanotechnology, public health, and the thermal sciences. Work is conducted through the world renowned Aerosol and Air Quality Research Laboratory (AAQRL). His research is funded by the National Science Foundation, US Department of Energy, National Institutes of Health, Environmental Protection Agency and Industry. He has graduated and advised 60 PhD students, and with them published more than 450 refereed journal articles.

As the Dean of Engineering at the University of Miami, working with the faculty, staff, students, alumni and industrial partners; he has developed a strategic vision that will lead to the growth of an impactful College of Engineering that addresses and tackles global challenge problems.



1985Ph.D. Engineering, California Institute of Technology
1981M.S. Chemical, Nuclear and Thermal Engineering, University of California–Los Angeles
1980B.Tech. Mechanical Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology

Research Interests

Aerosol science and engineering with applications in energy and environmental nanotechnology, nanoparticle synthesis, advanced material synthesis, pharmaceuticals and theranostics, medicine, biological systems, solar energy utilization, electronics, air pollution control, sensors, atmospheric issues, air quality, thermal sciences.