Juraj Kojs

Asst. Professor Prof. Practice

(434) 284-2985
Locator Code:



The Frost School of Music is a unique institution that allows students to explore the multifaceted nature of contemporary musicianship. If you are looking for a school that nurtures bold ideas, expects only the highest quality of scholarship and musicianship, and provides experience with cutting-edge technologies, you will find it all here! Let’s also not forget the school’s marvelous location. Miami is the multicultural center of America’s subtropics. Studying here makes the experience that much richer.


Juraj Kojs is an Assistant Professor of Professional Practice at the FROST SCHOOL OF MUSIC. He is also a renowned composer, sound and multimedia artist, performer, producer, researcher, and educator. His compositions have received recognition on multiple occasions, including honors received from “Europe—A Sound Panorama,” Miami New Times’ “Best Of”, Eastman Electroacoustic Composition and Performance Competition, and the Digital Art Award. Miami New Times went on to describe his muscle-powered multimedia performance of Neraissance as "striking and unforgettable," and MiamiArtzine called his composition Signals "enthralling and immersive." The Miami Herald praised his work Bang for the Train as "most profound…unexpected and enjoyable."

Professor Kojs has also created commissioned works for The Quiet Music Ensemble, Miami Light Project, Deering Estate Chamber Ensemble, Meet the Composer, Harvestworks, Miami Theater Center, Deering Estate and Vizcaya Museum & Gardens. Those who have performed his music include Tomoko Mukaiyama, Blair McMillen, Margaret Lancaster, Madeleine Shapiro, Jennifer Beattie, and Adam Marks, Glass Farm Ensemble, Michael Straus, Susan Fancher, Eugen Prochac, Canticum Ostrava, Atticus Brass Quintet, IKTUS Percussion Quartet, The Quiet Music Ensemble, Ensemble s21, Talujon Percussion, Cassatt String Quartet, Ensemble Pamplemousse, the Now Ensemble, Yale Gamelan Suprabanggo, The Living Earth Show and the Deering Estate Chamber Ensemble.

In addition, Professor Kojs’ research articles have appeared in various conference proceedings and journals such as Organized Sound, Digital Creativity, the Leonardo Music Journal, Computer Music Journal, the Journal of New Music Research and the International Journal of Arts and Technology.

Professor Kojs is the director of the Miami-based Foundation for Emerging Technologies and Arts (FETA). He holds a Ph.D. in Composition and Computer Technologies from the University of Virginia. He also taught at Medialogy Department Aalborg University (Copenhagen, Denmark), Yale University, Stanford University, University of Virginia, and Miami International University of Art and Design. Further information can be found at www.kojs.net


Honors & Acknowledgements

Professional Experience

Career Highlights

  • Named one of the 2020 Knight Arts Champions and received grant funding for his composition piece “Where Home Is”
  • Renowned composer, sound and multimedia artist, performer, producer, researcher and educator
  • Director of the Miami-based Foundation for Emerging Technologies and Arts (FETA)
  • Taught at Medialogy Department Aalborg University (Copenhagen, Denmark), Yale University, Stanford University, University of Virginia and Miami International University of Art and Design

Selected Honors and Recognitions

  • 2017 - Visiting Artist at the Center for Computer Research in Music and Acoustics (CCRMA). Stanford University, CA.
  • 2016 - Miami Light Project commissions and presents Bang for the Train. A participatory musical campaign for better public transportation.
  • 2015 - Faculty and composer in residence at New Music on the Point Festival. Leicester, VT
  • 2014 - Artist-in-residence at Royal Conservatory of Brussels, Belgium.
  • 2013 - Creativity + Technology = Enterprise fellowship. Harvestworks and ITAC, NYC.
  • 2012 - Composer-in-Residence at the Deering Estate, Miami, FL.
  • 2011 - Finalist at Europe—A Sound Panorama. Karlsruhe, Germany.
  • 2010 - Best Art Performance Award for Neraissance. Miami New Times, Miami, FL.
  • 2009 - Semifinalist at Guthman Musical Instrument Competition. Georgia Tech University, GA.
  • 2007 - Award for Excellence in Scholarship in the Humanities & Social Sciences from University of Virginia, VA.
  • 2006 - 1st place prize at Eastman Electroacoustic Composition and Performance  Competition, Rochester, NY.
  • 2005 - Finalist at GAUDEAMUS International Music Week, Amsterdam, The Netherlands.

Selected Recordings

  • 2017 - Ceaseless Beauty. CD of acoustic solo and chamber music CD featuring The Deering Estate Chamber Ensemble. Centaur Records.
  • 2015 - Action Music. Feat. Ensemble Pamplemousse. Pink Pamphlet Records. Audio-visual DVD.
  • 2012 - Yale album. aReWecordings.
  • 2011 - YourEye: Russia album. Pink Pamphlet Records.

Selected Publications

  • Serafin, S., Erkut C., Kojs, J., Nilsson, N., Nordahl, R. (2016). Virtual Reality Musical Instruments: State of the Art, Design Principles and Future Directions. Computer Music Journal, 42(3).
  • Kojs, J. (2013) Virtual Reality and Sonic Cyberspaces: Augmentation, Hybridization and Abstraction. International Journal of Arts and Technology, 6 (2), pp. 167–180.
  • Kojs, J. (2011) Notating Action-based Music. Leonardo Music Journal, 21, pp. 65—72.
  • Kojs, J. (2009) The Language of Action and Cyberaction-based Music: Theory and Practice. Journal of New Music Research, 38 (3), pp. 285—294.

Selected commission

  • 2017 - MDC Live Arts Lab Alliance (LALA). The Black Queen, a multimedia opera.
  • 2016 - Glass Farm Ensemble. Four Kisses for flute, clarinet, vibraphone and piano.
  • 2015 - Vizcaya Museum and Gardens. Moat of Sound, a sound installation.
  • 2014 - Sarah Cahill, piano. In the Mist for piano solo.
  • 2013 - Miami Theater Center. Signals. A multimedia work.
  • 2012 - Harvestworks NY. Touch Me Hear. A multimedia work.
  • 2012 - Deering Estate Chamber Music Ensemble. Tatry for piano quartet.
  • 2011 - Ensemble Pamplemousse: Adventures of an Annihilated Mirror for flute, violin, cello and piano.
  • 2010 - Meet the Composer. Music for the Assassins for One Night, a multimedia collaborative project.